CCEE News – October 18, 2021
Congratulations to Dr. Syeed Iskander, Dr. Yao Yu, and Dr. Wenjie Xia on their instructional equipment awards and preliminary data seed award from NDSU EPSCoR.

CCEE News – October 9, 2021
Dr. Kalpana Katti and Dr. Dinesh Katti have been appointed as Adjunct Faculty with Sanford Research. This appointment would allow for greater academic and research collaborations with Sanford Research.Dr. Syeed Iskander’s PE license application has been officially approved. Congratulations to the three professors!  

CCEE News – October 5, 2021
Congratulations to Dr. Chau Le, Dr. Youjin Jang, Dr. Yao Yu, and Dr. Achintya Bezbaruah on their ND EPSCoR State Office STEM Awards, including Preliminary Data Seed Awards, Community-Based STEM Research Award, and Equipment Award.

CCEE News – September 29, 2021
Congratulations to Dr. Dinesh Katti and Dr. Kalpana Katti on their proposal, “Prostate Cancer Bone Metastasis Testbed for Regenerative Bone Therapies for Bone Metastasis,” to be funded via the National Institutes of Health (NIH) - DaCCoTA Ready-to-Go Pilot Grant program.This grant is a collaboration between NDSU researchers and Sanford Health Physicians. The PIs of the grant are Dr. Dinesh Katti (NDSU) and  Dr. Parth Vyas (Sanford Health Orthopedic Oncology Surgeon); Co-PI- Dr. Kalpana Katti (NDSU); Collaborators- Dr. Jiha Kim (NDSU- Biological Sciences) and Dr. Samy Heshmat (Sanford Health Urologist). The grant amount is $99,998 for one year. The project involves obtaining prostate cancer and bone metastasis patient tissues from surgeries performed at the Sanford Health Fargo Hospitals. The project also involves studying new therapies for bone metastasis patients.

CCEE News – September 25, 2021
Two graduate students in Dr. Trung Le’s group, Lahcen Akerkouch and Berkay Koyuncu, received the Travel Awards from the American Physical Society (APS) to the Annual Meeting of Division of Fluid Dynamics in November. This award is highly selective and aimed for potential researchers in the field of Fluid Mechanics.

CCEE News – September 15, 2021
Two CCEE faculty members, Dr. Wenjie Xia and Dr. Trung Le, received the ND-ACES Early Career Faculty Award.

CCEE News – September 13, 2021
CCEE faculty/student received all three 2021 CoE Research Awards, including Dr. Ying Huang (Excellence in Research Award), Dr. Ravi Yellavajjala (Early Career Research Excellence Award), and Dayakar Naik Lavadiya (Graduate Research Assistant of the Year).Dr. Yao Yu received a DOE grant (as a Co-PI). It is one of the 44 projects (total $82.6 million) funded by DOE to drive innovations in building materials, lighting, and heating and cooling systems. The NDSU team will develop a novel absorption material that will efficiently store thermal energy. More information is available at: DOE Announces Nearly $83 Million to Increase Building Energy Efficiency and Cut Consumers' Energy Bills | Department of Energy

CCEE News – August 30, 2021
Dr. Chau Le received the RCA Research Development Travel and Conference Support Award. Congratulations to Dr. Chau Le for this RCA award!

CCEE News - August 16, 2021
The National Science Foundation names Dr. Kelly Rusch to Visioning the Future of NSF EPSCoR Committee. Congratulations, Kelly!The committee will operate as a subcommittee to NSF's Committee on Equal Opportunities in Science and Engineering (CEOSE). Dr. Rusch will be one of 19 national experts, selected out of 70 nominations, to steer a year-long visioning exercise that will involve stakeholders from across the United States and gather data to better understand the historic and current impacts of NSF EPSCoR programming. Additionally, the Committee will identify new opportunities for increased success and impact and submit a report of findings to NSF CEOSE for review.

CCEE News – August 2, 2021
Dr. Yao Yu received the RCA Research Development Travel and Conference Support Award. Congratulations to Dr. Yao Yu for this RCA award!

CCEE News – July 27, 2021

  • The College of Engineering has selected Dr. Ying Huang as the 2021 Excellence in Research Award recipient.
  • The College of Engineering has selected Dr. Ravi Yellavajjala as the 2021 Early Career Research Excellence Award recipient.
  • The College of Engineering has selected Dayakar Naik Lavadiya as the 2021 Graduate Research Assistant of the Year.

Congratulations to Dr. Ying Huang, Dr. Ravi Yellavajjala, and Dayakar Naik Lavadiya for the well-deserved recognitions and awards!

CCEE News – July 22, 2021
Mohammed (Moe) Mohammed, a CEE undergraduate student, was selected to receive the Deep Foundations At-Large Scholarship. This award is given to approximately 20 students annually (from all levels - undergraduate to doctoral), who show exceptional promise in the field of geotechnical (and foundation) engineering.Congratulations to Moe and Dr. Beena Ajmera (advisor) for this award!

CCEE News – July 2021
“American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), along with the Committee on Student Members, recognizes Tiffany Meeks, S.M.ASCE as a Model of Student Leadership for North Dakota State University ASCE Student Chapter”.
Congratulations to Tiffany and Dr. Ajmera (advisor of NDSU ASCE Student Chapter) for this ASCE Recognition/Award! Also, thanks for their effort, contribution, and leadership in CCEE student organization activities.

Top of page