

News Release –

October 31, 2019

North Central Region 4 of the Association Schools of Construction Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota

During October 27-30, 2019, the North Central Region (Region 4) of the Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) met at the Lied Lodge in Nebraska City, Nebraska for its annual conference and competition. Ten of the sixteen universities in the seven-state region were represented. In attendance were 30 university faculty and 28 teams totaling 168 students. Events included this year were the ASC Region 4 Midyear Meeting, Career Fair, and the 27th Annual Construction Management Student Competition.

The following organizations sponsored the event.:

- Mortenson Construction
- McCown-Gordon
- Bilfinger / Westcon
- Lusardi
- Alberici
- Interstates Construction
- Kiewit
- Turner
- MCA of Kansas City
- Hensel Phelps
- Baker Concrete
- Performance Contracting, Inc.
- Procore
- Lithko
- Cornerstone Contracting Group
- Builder's Association KC
- NAWIC Omaha

Students competed in five divisions: Commercial 1 (new construction), Commercial 2 (renovation/addition), Design-Build, Heavy-Civil, and Specialty Contracting. Students used real construction documents from projects that have already been or are currently under construction. The overall intent was to place students in "real life" project management situations. In an 18-hour period, they had to schedule, estimate, run cost analyses, and resolve several management issues that arose during the project planning phase. A panel of judges from industry reviewed and graded the team proposals that were prepared in the 18-hr time period by the students. The proposals included the team's plans for managing and constructing the project. Students were asked to prepare and present their proposed ideas to the panel of judges. In order to facilitate such an environment, the judging panels were comprised of representatives from all facets of the construction industry.

Commercial 1 Sponsored by Mortenson

1st place – North Dakota State University

Dawson Mann
Nicholas Jensen
Jordan Nieuwsma
Cy Kuschel
Conner Stevens
Joey Halter
Coached by Todd Sirotiak



ANDREWS AND OUR CONTROL OF THE PARTY OF THE

2nd place - University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Brady Standage
Cooper Netsch
James Killen
Kiel Kruse
Tyler Farley
Anthony Sacco
Coached by Matt Barrows

3rd place – Missouri State University

Megan O'Leary
Evan Fullerton
Tanner Hartman
Lily Quitno
Zach Seita
Ryan Sweeney
Coached by David Joswick



Commercial 2 Sponsored by Alberici

1st place – University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Austin Campbell
Brad Hurtz
Jake Battenhorst
William Semerad
Ryan Cook
Eric Hayward
Coached by Matt Barrows





2nd place - Iowa State University

Michael Feste Brenna Ripp Megan Tagye Pete Stark Jake Czernik Ellie Bryan Coached by Beth Hartmann

3rd place - Kansas State University

Dawson Borcherding
Chance Braun
Jackson Reilly
Tyler Collins
Sam Wohler
Alexis Susunaga
Coached by Katie Loughmiller



Heavy Highway Division Sponsored by Kiewit Corporation

1st place – University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Alex Mackenburg
Sadie Brockett
Jay Johnston
Kaleb Cook
Adam Miller
Logan Angstead
Coached by Phil Barutha



THE AREA OF THE THE AREA O

2nd place – Minnesota State University – Mankato

Mark Dyer
Paul Lang
Wyatt Volkmann
Jacob frost
Kyler Horner
Cody Bleess
Coached by Seong Jin Kim

3rd place - Missouri State University

Lathan Kerans
Owen Conrath
Brandon Lefrense
Taylor Monzyk
Carl Paetrow
Jacob Johnson
Coached by Jim Peterson



Specialty Division Sponsored by Interstates

1st place - Iowa State University

Rachel Foster
Kayla Youngblood
Jordan Girolamo
Parker Lloyd
Campbell Mallak
Kevin Waller
Coached by Beth Hartmann



2nd place - Missouri State University

Tate Vickers
Erica Vaughn
Spencer Prichard
Easton Dunning
Jacob Arnold
William Meyer
Coached by Jacob Nelson

3rd place - Kansas State Univeristy

Sage Waltemath
Christopher Jungk
Maddison Jarman
Grant Wells
Molly Scott
Sierra Purcell
Coached by Jongchul Song



Design-Build Division Sponsored by Hensel Phelps

1st place – Iowa State University
Katie Swanson
Javier Rodriguez-Reyes
Dylan Davis
Kenny Griffin
Dirk Snyder
Jerad Wagner
Coached by Beth Hartmann





2nd place – University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Zach Barnhill
John Pupkes
Alexis Wilson
Nick Gaffney
Dakota Mohlman
Eric Adame
Coached by Phil Barutha

3rd place – Kansas State University
Jordan Brunk
Eric Peterson
Matt Voight
Amy Nguyen
Dan Staudenmeier
Randal Chushuk
Coached by Shannon Casebeer



ASC Region 4 Member Schools

Dakota County Technical College

Dunwoody College of Technology

Iowa State University

Kansas State University

Metropolitan Community College

Minnesota State University - Mankato

Minnesota State University - Moorhead

Missouri State University

North Dakota State University

Pittsburg State University

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Southeast Missouri State University

University of Kansas

University of Central Missouri

University of Minnesota

University of Nebraska - Kearney

University of Nebraska - Lincoln/Omaha

University of Northern Iowa