Faculty Awards and Recognition Committee Meeting Notes Tuesday October 11, 8:30-9:30am, Mandan Room, MU Thursday October 13, 2016, 9:00-10:30am, Mandan Room, MU

Attendees: Kevin Brooks (due to potential CoI), Daniel Friesner, Sumathy Krishnan, Simone Ludwig, Linda Manikowske (only Thursday 10/13), Rodney Traub, Kimberly Vonnahme, Ross Collins (PKP Representative), Canan Bilen-Green (non-voting)

1. **Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Lectureship Award.** Each of the three finalists gave a brief (five to 15 minute) research talk and answered committee questions. Following committee discussion and vote, Michael Strand, Head and Professor of Visual Arts, was selected for this year's award.

2. Endowed Professorship Awards.

- The committee received 26 applications (from 12 departments in 6 colleges). The committee decided to allow nominators who did not follow page limits (two pages for the letter; three for CV) to resubmit their nomination packets by October 18 (*all resubmitted*).
- The committee will meet on October 27, 8:30-10:30am, in Mandan Room to discuss & select awardees.