## Faculty Awards and Recognition Committee Meeting Notes May 19, 2017, Peace Garden Room, MU

**Attendees:** Kevin Brooks, Daniel Friesner, Sumathy Krishnan (on leave), Simone Ludwig, Linda Manikowske, Rodney Traub, Kimberly Vonnahme, Canan Bilen-Green (non-voting)

- 1. The committee finalized faculty awards for the 2017-2018 academic year. The deadlines and materials for nominations will be posted on the Provost website.
- 2. Service Learning and Advising awards: due to budget concerns, nominations will not be requested for these awards during the 2017-18 academic year.
- 3. Peltier Award: Office of the Provost will work with the Development Foundation to explore whether group nominations would be allowed for this award.
- 4. Odney Award: Committee will review nominations and select about five finalists who will be invited to submit a letter on their teaching philosophy and teaching activities.
- 5. Nominators will be encouraged to nominate again the finalists for the PKP and Faculty Lectureship, Mentoring, and Chamber Awards.