Advance FORWARD awards travel grants Published: 11 February 2009 02:13 PM

By: Sadie Anderson









Advance FORWARD co-directors awarded travel grants to 35 recipients in six different NDSU colleges. The recipients will receive up to \$1,500 for a variety of travel-related professional experiences. Some recipients and examples of the way they will use their travel awards include Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, associate professor of plant sciences; Carol Archbold, assistant professor of political science and criminal justice; Rebecca Woods, assistant professor of child development and family science; and Kara Wolfe, associate professor of apparel, design and hospitality management.

Hatterman-Valenti will attend and present research at the American Society for Horticulture's annual meeting. She will meet with colleagues from other universities to develop a collaborative proposal for the Specialty Crop Research Initiative. She also will meet with colleagues to discuss vegetable and small fruit research.

Archbold will present research findings at the 2009 Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences conference. Archbold is preparing to submit the findings in a research paper for Police Quarterly. She also will participate in a criminal justice graduate director roundtable discussion to gather information that may be used to improve the graduate program at NDSU.

Woods will attend the Society for Research in Child Development conference where she also will meet with her grant mentor, Amy Needham, who is a professor at Vanderbilt University and one of the top researchers in her field. Needham will assist Woods with a pilot project proposal for the Center of Biomedical Research Excellence. Woods will use her travel award to cover childcare expenses.

Wolfe will bring Carol Shanklin, dean of the graduate school at Kansas State University, to NDSU. Shanklin will meet with NDSU faculty and offer insights from her experience in securing significant external funding, establishing a distinguished publications record, advising and directing graduate students.

The travel grants are one of several efforts to support the advancement of women faculty that are

included in the Advance FORWARD project. Organizers anticipate they will distribute approximately 30 travel grants for each year of the five-year project.

Recipients from the College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources include Anna Grazul-Bilska, Siew Hoon Lim, Deirdre Prishchmann-Voldseth, Birgit Pruess, Senay Simsek, Kim Vonnahme and Qi Zhang.

Recipients from the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences include Sarah Browning, Kris Groberg, Carol Pearson, Carrie Anne Platt, Joy Sather-Wagstaff, Verena Theile and Courtney Waid.

Ruilin Tian is the recipient from the College of Business.

Recipients from the College of Engineering and Architecture are Stevie Famulari, LingLing Fan, Sumathy Krishnan, Cindy Urness, Yechun Wang and Jun Zhang.

Recipients from the College of Human Development and Education are Kristen Benson, Ann Braaten, Jae Ha Lee, Sherri Stastny and Ann Welch.

Recipients from the College of Science and Mathematics are Victoria Gelling, Erin Gillam, Wendy Gordon, Angie Hodge and Jen Juan Li.