State Board of Agricultural Research Minutes - July 6, 1998 Fargo, North Dakota

The State Board of Agricultural Research met July 6, 1998 in Loftsgard Hall on the NDSU campus at 9:00 a.m. Members present were: Sharon Anderson, Tom Archbold, Ryan Brooks, Tim Bryan, Sylvia Daws, Jerry Doan, Cole Gustafson, Jody Hauge, George Heller, Pat Jensen, Burdell Johnson, Roger Johnson, Don Morton (for Interim President Allan Fischer), and Mark Weber.

Chair Jerry Doan opened the meeting and announced that Tim Bryan and Jody Hauge had been appointed by State Board of Higher Education (June 18-19) to serve five-year terms with SBAR.

Sharon Anderson made a motion, seconded by Cole Gustafson, to approve the minutes of the June 1 meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Bruce Bollinger, ag budget director, shared a summary sheet prepared by the University System Office showing priorities for 1999-2001. Restoration was noted as the top priority.

Sharon Anderson shared Extension's prioritized recommendations for possible restoration of funds. Anderson indicated she would like an opportunity in the future to visit with SBAR members about the relationship between the Extension Service and the SBAR.

Lori Capouch, Dakotas Cooperative Development Center, distributed a copy of a proposal to administer the Ag Research Fund. Following discussion between Ms. Capouch and the board, it was agreed that time would be allowed so other individuals or groups could submit proposals for administration of the fund.

Roger Johnson made a motion to request NDSU ag administration to obtain an opinion from the university attorney regarding 1) whether gas tax funds can be used to pay administrative costs, and 2) if they can be used for administration, develop reasonable options, and prepare a request for proposals on fund administration. Sharon Anderson seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously.

Before moving ahead to the joint ranking of the program cuts with the proposed initiatives, each unit administrator – department chairs and research extension center directors – was given the opportunity to state their preference in the priority planning. Following those statements and discussion among board members, Mark Weber made a motion to rank the initiatives and program cuts without considering any previous priority ranking materials. The motion was seconded by Tim Bryan. A roll call vote was taken with all members voting in favor.

Faculty from the Agricultural Economics Department tabulated the ballots for joint ranking with the following results:

- 1. Crop protection
- 2. Grain quality educations
- 3. Animal disease prevention
- 4. Foundation seed
- 5. Range research
- 6. Molecular marker lab
- 7. Corn breeding
- 8. Co-product utilization
- 9. Plant diseases
- 10. Mid-sized traditional farms
- 11. Range research/Central Grasslands
- 12. Crop support system
- 13. Wheat quality
- 14. Livestock production systems

- 15. Value-added ag center
- 16. Swine research/Dickinson
- 17. Research extension center operating
- 18. Insecticide evaluation
- 19. Sheep research program/Hettinger
- 20. High value irrigated crops
- 21. Potato development
- 22. Ag finance
- 23. Soil testing
- 24. Plant breeding
- 25. Statistics/genetics/chemist
- 26. Biopolymer Service Center
- 27. Salary rollup

Ryan Brooks made a motion to approve the rankings as listed, George Heller seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Questions were raised regarding consideration of hay as a commodity eligible for the Ag Research Fund and if it is determined to be, how that granting committee would be selected. The board agreed that some clarification would be necessary and ag administrators will follow up.

Members of the granting committee for corn were presented for SBAR approval: John Bollingberg, Allan Braaten, Dwight Enockson, Paul Langseth and Dennis McCoy. SBAR members approved the committee as proposed.

John Mittleider, executive administrator of the North Dakota Barley Council, raised a concern with language of the policies and procedures for the Ag Research Fund, but was assured that the SBAR is committed to moving forward with necessary research and is very much looking to the commodity and livestock groups for support of the research efforts.

In preparing for election of a chair, Mark Weber nominated Jerry Doan. With no other nominations, Jody Hauge made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot in support of Jerry Doan as chair of the SBAR. The motion was seconded by Roger Johnson and unanimously approved.

Board members shared their impressions of the first year with the State Board of Agricultural Research. The consensus was that the year had been a substantial commitment, but because of the time spent, there is much better understanding of the research programs. Board members feel their efforts will be tremendously important during the legislative session and the outcome of that session will provide evidence of the board's success. Several members noted admiration and respect for department chairs and research extension center directors for their commitment to the SBAR efforts.

The meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.