State Board of Agricultural Research Minutes - October 2, 1998 Central Grasslands Research Extension Center Streeter, North Dakota

The State Board of Agricultural Research met October 2, 1998 at the Central Grasslands Research Extension Center in Streeter, North Dakota at 9:00 a.m. Members present were: Sharon Anderson, Tom Archbold, Ryan Brooks, Tim Bryan, Sylvia Daws, Jerry Doan, Cole Gustafson, Jody Hauge, George Heller, Pat Jensen, Burdell Johnson, Jeff Weispfenning for Roger Johnson, Dale Reimers and Mark Weber.

Central Grasslands Research Extension Center Director Paul Nyren welcomed the Board and provided a tour of the grounds.

Chair Jerry Doan called the meeting to order and thanked Anne and Paul Nyren for hosting the SBAR and providing the facilities and grounds tour.

Doan made the following announcements:

- Statewide newspapers and radio stations were provided a news release announcing the time and place for this SBAR meeting. The releases will be sent for each meeting in the future.
- Meetings with Legislative Council, Office of Management and Budget, and Governor's Office have been very positive. Doan stated there appears to be very strong and solid support for agriculture.
- Responding to concerns expressed relating to the possible closing of the Central Grasslands Research Extension Center, Doan stated that is not the intention of the SBAR or OMB. The SBAR has been challenged to make better use of resources and is committed to making the system better. People involved in the system need to be positive, go forward and work towards the betterment of the system.
- Minutes of the July 6 meeting and August 7 conference call were unanimously approved.

Patricia Jensen indicated the animal care facility is still a top priority and Interim President Allan Fischer is very committed to the progress of that project.

Chairman Doan reviewed a communication from NDSU General Counsel regarding SBAR voting procedure and stressed the need for clarification relating to substitutes (sent in absence of SBAR member) voting.

Jerry Doan introduced Lori Capouch, ag research fund administrator, and thanked her for the great job she has done implementing the ag research fund award process. Lori reported that she has been busy working with the new granting committees and establishing the policies and procedures. She expects funding to be in place by the start of the legislative session and will work with the State Board of Agricultural Research to recommend minor changes to the legislation that would refine the process.

The Board discussed carrying over committed funds on approved projects without additional approval. Cole Gustafson made a motion to request the legislature to give carryover authority for funds committed to ongoing projects. Jeff Weispfenning seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Lori Capouch distributed copies of current members of granting committees for SBAR approval. The Board reviewed the committee make-ups and affirmed approval of the listed committees as follows:

Barley - Ryan Brooks made a motion to approve, Tom Archbold seconded, unanimously approved. Dry Edible Beans - Burdell Johnson made a motion to approve, Jody Hauge seconded, unanimously approved.

Corn - Tom Archbold made a motion to approve, Pat Jensen seconded, unanimously approved. New and Emerging Crops - Ryan Brooks made a motion to approve, Sharon Anderson seconded, unanimously approved.

Potato - Mark Weber made a motion to approve, Sharon Anderson seconded, unanimously approved.

Soybeans - Mark Weber made a motion to approve, Sylvia Daws seconded, unanimously approved.

Sugarbeet - Jody Hauge made a motion to approve, Burdell Johnson seconded, unanimously approved.

Wheat - Sharon Anderson made a motion to approve, Tom Archbold seconded, unanimously approved.

Animal Agriculture - Ryan Brooks made a motion to approve, Burdell Johnson seconded, unanimously approved.

Mark Weber made a motion to approve the sunflower granting committe, but the motion was opposed because there were an inadequate number of producers represented on committee. Burdell Johnson made a motion stating that the sunflower committee was out of compliance and the group will be contacted and asked to work to add producers as required by the Ag Research Fund guidelines. Jeff Weispfenning seconded the motion which was unanimously approved. Larry Beard, director the North Dakota Ag Statistics Service, addressed the Board, explaining how statistical data for crops and livestock production is derived. He explained the difference in the "cash receipts" data and the" value of production" data. Following discussion, George Heller made a motion to use data provided from cash receipts available from ND Ag Statistics Service each year. All members were in favor, with the exception of Mark Weber; motion passed.

There have been some questions at past meetings regarding hay as a commodity and which granting committee would review those proposals. Jody Hauge made a motion to have the proposals submitted for hay research reviewed by the animal agriculture granting committee. Pat Jensen seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Following a lunch break, Jay Fisher, director of the North Central Research Extension Center at Minot, provided a general overview of the research extension centers. He noted the importance of the locations as they relate to the missions of each center and reviewed the difficult budget situations that the directors and their respective staffs deal with.

Paul Nyren provided a detailed review of the Streeter operations, reviewing their past efforts, current research, and plans for the future. He stressed the importance of the relationships of Streeter staff with campus staff personnel.

Tim Faller, director of the Hettinger Research Extension Center, talked to the Board about the importance of a pooled fund of carryover monies for emergency use at the research extension centers.

Blaine Schatz, director of the Carrington Research Extension Center, and Kris Ringwall, director of the Dickinson Research Extension Center, addressed concerns over duplication of livestock research efforts at state research sites. This topic will be discussed more in depth at a future meeting.

Sharon Anderson shared draft copies of proposed legislative changes that would bring the NDSU Extension Service under the same authority as the ND Agricultural Experiment Station rather than the SBAR serving Extension in an advisory capacity. Following discussion and suggested changes, Jeff Weispfenning made a motion to adopt the piece (with today's changes incorporated) as the first draft to take to the Legislature. Sylvia Daws seconded the motion, with was unanimously approved.

The meeting adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

Recorded by Margaret Olson