State Board of Agricultural Research and Education Minutes - October 4, 1999 (amended and approved December 14, 1999) Langdon Research Extension Center Langdon, North Dakota

The State Board of Agricultural Research met at 10:00 a.m. October 4, 1999 at the Langdon Research Extension Center in Langdon, North Dakota. Members present were: Sharon Anderson, Ryan Brooks, Tim Bryan, Joseph Chapman, Sylvia Daws, Jerry Doan, Cole Gustafson, Jody Hauge, Maynard Helgaas, George Heller, Patricia Jensen, Burdell Johnson, and Roger Johnson. Tom Archbold and Neal Fisher were absent.

SBARE members drove to the Cavalier County Courthouse for program presentations by area extension staff. Ron Beneda, Ellen Dunlop, Terry Gregoire, and Macine Lukach gave an overview of local extension efforts. Sharon Anderson reviewed the extension budget.

After returning to the Research Extension Center and being hosted to an excellent lunch, Jerry Doan called the meeting to order. The minutes of the June 10-11, 1999 meeting were approved as mailed.

Doan noted the following:

- Jerry Doan and Cole Gustafson provided an update to the interim legislative committee in Bismarck on July 22.
- An orientation session was held for new SBARE members, Neal Fisher and Maynard Helgaas, September 8 in Bismarck. Doan, Sharon Anderson and Cole Gustafson participated in the orientation.
- An SBARE long-range planning session was held September 17 in Fargo. Sharon Anderson, Tom Archbold, Jerry Doan, Cole Gustafson, Patricia Jensen and Jim Venette participated.
- George Heller has agreed to serve as SBARE representative on the recently formed Program Directions Committee, charged with recommending future program direction for extension.

The group brainstormed about future issues impacting agriculture. Areas noted were new animal diseases, membership terms for SBARE, long-term crop development, regulations of animal agriculture, and underfunding of animal research.

Doan introduced John Lukach and thanked he and his staff for their outstanding hospitality. Lukach updated SBARE on the proposed learning center at Langdon. Ryan Brooks moved that SBARE support the concept of the learning center. Sharon Anderson seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Don Hanson talked with the board about chemical pads used for pesticide handling at the research extension centers. He proposed using the money allocated in the last legislative session to begin construction of buildings in Minot, Langdon, Williston, and Hettinger. Tim Bryan made a motion to approve the proposal and allow flexibility needed to accomplish the project work. Sylvia Daws seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Hanson reviewed the progress of the animal research facility building committee, indicating they hope to be ready to call for bids after January 1, 2000.

Patricia Jensen told the group that she has had discussions with the College of Pharmacy at NDSU about a collaboration with them, using a portion of the federal funds allocated for the animal care facility that was not used in the authorization by the North Dakota legislature for the large animal care project. The small animal research facility is part of the original two-part project proposal. Jensen made a motion that SBARE support collaboration between NDSU agriculture and the College of Pharmacy using a portion of the federal funds for the small animal care project. These are funds to be matched exclusively by private funds and within the financial plan already approved by the State Board of Higher Education. Tim Bryan seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously.

Bruce Bollinger reviewed the current budget situation indicating there is a real need to find ways to support the costs to continue and salary increases approved by the Legislature and the State Board of Higher Education.

The board discussed the make-up of the Ag Research Fund granting committees. The new and emerging crops committee has vacancies and several SBARE members recommended individuals to fill the positions.

Regarding the new and emerging crops committee, Patricia Jensen made a motion to change the policy to include "at least four producers" to serve on the committee. George Heller seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Maynard Helgaas made a motion to ask all of the individuals recommended by SBARE to serve on the committee. If at least four of the recommended individuals are not able to serve, the SBARE executive committee should proceed to fill the vacancies. Tim Bryan seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

After discussing the sugarbeet committee, Tim Bryan made a motion to add Jim Hardy to the committee. Ryan Brooks seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously. Jim Hardy will provide representation from the northwest region of the state.

Maynard Helgaas made a motion to change the Ag Research Fund guidelines to state that "researchers will act as ex-officio non-voting members of the granting committees." Jody Hauge seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously.

Maynard Helgaas made a motion to approve the granting committees with the proposed amendments. Tim Bryan seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously.

Tim Bryan suggested the Ag Research Fund administrator notify SBARE members of committee meeting dates and times. Members may wish to attend the granting committee meetings to become more familiar with the grant process.

A list of 1999-2000 Ag Research Fund allocations was distributed for board review. Burdell Johnson made a motion to approve the allocations as presented. George Heller seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously.

Discussing the election of officers, Burdell Johnson made a motion to retain the current chair for the next year. Tim Bryan seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously.

There was some discussion regarding preferred meeting dates and longterm schedules. Ryan Brooks made a motion to have the executive committee set a schedule (based on input by ballot from SBARE membership). George Heller seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

The meeting was adjourned and members took a tour of the research extension center and grounds.

Recorded by Margaret Olson