State Board of Agricultural Research and Education Conference Call Minutes - May 25, 2000 Fargo, North Dakota

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met via conference call at 7:45 a.m. on May 25, 2000. Members participating in the call were: Sharon Anderson, Ryan Brooks, Tim Bryan, Sylvia Daws, Jerry Doan, Neal Fisher, Cole Gustafson, Jody Hauge, George Heller, Patricia Jensen, Burdell Johnson, and Jeff Weispfenning (for Roger Johnson).

Chairman Jerry Doan opened the meeting and explained the purpose of the call was to discuss the results of the preliminary ranking of the proposed agriculture budget initiatives. Doan shared the results of the preliminary ranking:

- 1. BeefLine
- 2. Crop Production, Diversification, and Protection
- 3. Agricultural Finance Management
- 4. Barley
- 5. Wheat Quality
- 6. Cooperative Canola Research
- 7. Irrigation
- 8. Changing Face of Rural Communities
- 9. ND Ag Weather Network Center
- 10. Langdon Learning Facility

The group discussed the ranking process and issues regarding input from the ex-officio SBARE member. Tim Bryan made a motion to approve the ranking as presented by the chairman. Jody Hauge seconded the motion. Following discussion, Burdell Johnson moved to amend the motion to accept the ranking including input from ex-officio SBARE member. Neal Fisher seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously; the amendment carried with Tim Bryan opposed.

Jerry Doan indicated the board would need to meet again in the next couple of months to work on prioritization within the BeefLine initiative.

The meeting adjourned at 9:00 a.m.

Recorded by Margaret Olson