State Board of Agricultural Research and Education Minutes – December 8-9, 2011 Fargo, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met in Loftsgard Hall on the NDSU Campus beginning at 12:30 p.m. on December 8. Members present were Mike Beltz, John Bollingberg, Tom Borgen, Dean Bresciani, Doug Goehring, Ken Grafton, Duane Hauck, Rodney Howe, Doyle Johannes, Jerry Klein, Paul Langseth, Phil Mueller, and JoAnn Rodenbiker.

Chairman Howe called the meeting to order, made introductions, and asked for changes/additions to the agenda. He distributed updated copies of the 2011 general fund initiatives. Minutes of the November SBARE meeting were approved as distributed.

President Bresciani announced that Ken Grafton has been named Vice President for Agriculture and University Extension in addition to his role as dean and director.

Ken Grafton thanked the president for his unwavering support and added that he appreciates the support from members of SBARE.

Rodney Howe added that he, too, appreciated the president's wisdom and good decision in naming Ken Grafton as vice president.

Duane Hauck introduced members of the Extension Leadership Team to visit with SBARE about issues/needs leading into the next legislative session.

Chris Boerboom – ag and natural resources needs Brad Cogdill – western 4-H camp Deb Gebeke – family and consumer science needs Lynette Flage – Extension agents-in-training Kathy Tweeten – community and workforce sustainability

Ken Grafton introduced Janelle Quam, administrative assistant for the dean and director's office.

The meeting adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education reconvened at the Ramada Plaza and Suites in Fargo on December 9 at 8:00 a.m.

Ken Grafton introduced Sreekala Bajwa, new chair for the Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, indicating she plans to begin at NDSU on February 29. Bajwa told board members she is excited about her new role and is anxious to learn about SBARE and to meet stakeholders.

Grafton also introduced Mark Weber, new director for the Northern Crops Institute, who said he was pleased with his new role and is looking forward to re-establishing relationships with SBARE members and stakeholder groups.

Tom Teigen, Agronomy Seed Farm Director, provided an update to SBARE and stated that he has no needs for the board to consider as his budget contains no general fund dollars.

SBARE heard testimony from the following individuals related to their department/unit issues and needs.

Cole Gustafson, Agribusiness and Applied Economics Frank Casey, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering **Greg Lardy, Animal Sciences** Jack Rasmussen, Plant Pathology **Rich Horsley, Plant Sciences** Frank Casev, School of Natural Resource Sciences **Charlene Wolf-Hall, Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences** Neil Dyer, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory **Greg Sanders/Jane Strommen, Aging Initiative** Tim Lilja, North Dakota Corn Growers Steve Edwardson, North Dakota Barley Council **Barry Coleman. Northern Canola Growers** Beau Bateman, Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Gary Hoffman, North Dakota Dairy Coalition Jason Mewes, Northharvest Bean Growers Jeff Hamre, Soybean Growers/Council Kim Christianson, North Dakota Alliance for Renewable Energy Paul Anderson, North Dakota Grape Growers (Ron Smith) Howard Olson, AgCountry Farm Credit **Bob Sinner, Northern Food Grade Soybeans**

Chairman Howe announced that the next SBARE meeting is set for January 6 in Carrington.

Phil Mueller asked ag administrators to provide information on how the federal budget cuts would affect research and Extension programs.

Duane Hauck thanked SBARE members for their past support and indicated that even though he retires December 31, he will continue to support their efforts.

The meeting adjourned at 3:10 p.m.

Recorded by Margaret Olson