State Board of Agricultural Research and Education November 12 & 13, 2015 MINUTES

November 12, 2015

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met at the NDSU McGovern Alumni Center in Fargo ND on November 12-13, 2015. Board members in attendance were Leland (Judge) Barth, Mike Beltz, Mark Birdsall, Tracy Boe, Chris Boerboom, Ken Grafton, Lance Gulleson, Brian Leier, Keith Peltier, JoAnn Rodenbiker, Richard (Dick) Roland, Lyle Warner and Dean Wehri. Ms. Jessie Pfaff, Commissioner Doug Goehring's representative for the meetings, is a Livestock Development Specialist from the ND Department of Agriculture. Absent: Dean Bresciani and Jerry Klein.

Chairman Beltz called the meeting to order at 8:15 a.m. and noting a quorum, welcomed members and guests and invited everyone to make introductions. Motion to approve the July 28-29, 2015 minutes was made by Brian Leier and seconded by Lance Gulleson. Motion carried. Chairman Beltz briefly reviewed the prioritization process looking at the needs of agriculture in North Dakota. A subcommittee may be formed to assist Extension in the initiative building process in the near future.

Administrative Report from Dr. Grafton

Dr. Grafton announced the impending retirement of Jay Fisher, director of the North Central Research Extension Center in Minot, on December 31, 2015. He thanked Director Fisher for his years of service to North Dakota. Brian Otteson, the new Agronomy Seed Farm director, was present and Dr. Grafton introduced him to members of the Board.

Administrative Report from Dr. Boerboom

Dr. Boerboom announced the impending retirements of two Extension personnel on December 31, 2015: Gerald Sturn, the NDSU Extension Southwest District Director, and Dr. J.W. Schroeder, Extension Dairy Specialist and Associate Professor.

Many Extension community forums have taken place this fall gathering input.

The following individuals talked about programs/initiatives important to them as related to the SBARE budget planning process:

NDSU Extension Service - Lynette Flage & Charlie Stoltenow, Extension Program Leaders

NDSU Ag and Biosystems Engineering Department - Sreekala Bajwa, Chair

NDSU Agribusiness & Applied Economics Department - William Nganje, Dept. Chair

NDSU Animal Sciences Department -Greg Lardy, Dept. Head

NDSU Plant Pathology Department - Jack Rasmussen, Dept. Chair

NDSU Plant Sciences Department -Rich Horsley, Dept. Head

NDSU School of Natural Resource Sciences -Frank Casey, School Director

Extension Programming in ND - Joe Breker, ND producer

North Dakota Crop Improvement & Seed Association -Del Gates, President

Research in UAS applications in agriculture & precision Ag - Carol Goodman, Cavalier Cty Job Devt Authority

NDSU Vet and Microbiological Sciences Department -Neil Dyer, Interim Department Head

Precision Ag research & farm safety educational programs - Sarah Lovas, CCA, Lovas Farms/ Lovas Consulting

North Dakota Organic industry -Brad Brummond, Mark Aaskegard, and Chris Weigert

North Dakota Grain Growers Association - Dan Wogsland, Exec Director

North Dakota Forest Service - Larry Kotchman, ND Forester

State Board of Agricultural Research and Education November 12 & 13, 2015 MINUTES

North Dakota Urban and Community Forestry Association - Scott Liudahl, City of Fargo

November 13, 2015

SBARE reconvened at 8:30 a.m. taking a tour bus to view the site for the new Veterinary Diagnostic Lab, tour the NDSU Beef Cattle Research Complex, and the NDSU Sheep Unit. Following these tours members participated in the dedication ceremony of the new NDAES Greenhouse Complex.

Input sessions resumed at 1:30 PM at the NDSU McGovern Alumni Center.

Garrison Diversion Conservancy District - Kip Kovar

The following individuals talked about programs/initiatives important to them as related to the SBARE budget planning process:

Precision Ag research & education in ND - Nate Schlief, Precision Farming Specialist, Titan Machinery Precision Ag research needs & farm safety education - Jim Broten, producer, owner of Sheyenne Manufacturing Northern Plains Sustainable Ag Society - Ed Goerger, Exec Director North Dakota Nursery & Greenhouse Society - Mary Holm, Exec Director Sustainable cropping – Sen. Larry Luick Ag-related alternatives to the Diversion – Sen. Larry Luick

At the conclusion of the day's input sessions, Chairman Beltz noted that the December 15 input session may be extended to two days if additional stakeholder input is requested. The December meeting may also include the initial prioritization cuts. Extension subcommittee work will likely take place in January, and full board meetings will take place in February and March.

Having no other business, Chairman Beltz asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Dick Roland made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Keith Peltier seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 3:28 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Lorie Herbel.