NORTH DAKOTA STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATION DRAFT NOVEMBER 2, 2021 MEETING MINUTES | FARGO, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met for a regular meeting on November 2, 2021. Present: Jim Bahm, Dean Bresciani, John Dhuyvetter, Doug Goehring, Larry Hoffmann, Sen. Jerry Klein, Greg Lardy, Sarah Lovas, Mark Urquhart and Julie Zikmund. Present via zoom: Dean Wehri. Absent: Doug Bichler, Mark Birdsall, Rep. Tracy Boe and Lance Gulleson.

Chair Lovas called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m. She welcomed everyone in attendance and asked for introductions.

Approval of September 16, 2021 Meeting Minutes.

<u>MOTION</u>: Jim Bahm made a motion to approve the September 16 meeting minutes as presented. Seconded by Larry Hoffmann. Motion carried.

Approval Agricultural Research Fund Committee Lists

<u>MOTION</u>: Jim Bahm made a motion to approve the ARF granting committee lists. Seconded by Mark Urguhart. Motion carried.

NDSU President Bresciani

President Bresciani advised that NDSU is still continues to work through the Covid situation and feels it is being managed very well with a positive atmosphere on campus. President Biden's vaccine mandate will be discussed to determine the best course of action. President Bresciani will provide more information as it becomes available.

Administrative Updates from Greg Lardy, VP for Agricultural Affairs, Dean, Director, Director

Dr. Lardy advised that the appropriations committee has been in meeting in Bismarck for the last three weeks. There is a draft bill for \$8.2 million in funds for projects that are SBARE priorities along with an agricultural research laboratory at the DREC. He thanked Senator Klein for his help to move this bill ahead. He discussed the ongoing need for replacement of Waldron Hall. The Peltier Complex will begin construction next spring and will be located on the west end of campus. The groundbreaking and naming ceremony will be on November 19th at 2 p.m.at NDSU. Fundraising continues for that as well.

Dr. Lardy advised that the new ABEN Department chair, Dr. Leon Schumacher, has been hired and is scheduled to start January 3, 2022. There are other searches taking place right now as well - Carrington REC director, AES Associate Director and the ANSC Head position.

NDSU Extension Updates from Lynette Flage, Associate Director

Dr. Flage provided an update on staffing and programs. NDSU Extension has partnered with the Department of Agriculture to get the necessary funds for farm and ranch mental educational programming. 4-H had another successful camp season with more campers being added every year. 4-H is partnering with other non-profits to build the camp up.

On October 25, 2021, Katie Tyler started as the new Rural Leadership Director. There are other openings within NDSU Extension that are being filled. Administration is trying to be very strategic and thoughtful about those openings.

Update from Doug Goehring, ND Agriculture Commissioner

Comments from Sarah Lovas, SBARE Chair

Chair Lovas thanked Dr. Lardy, Dave Ruhland and the legislators for their continued support of SBARE priorities in Bismarck. Chair Lovas briefed SBARE and the attendees with information regarding the SBARE prioritization process. The current prioritization process will not be complete until next spring. The current priority list will stand as the working priority list until that time. The SBARE prioritization process is important work that is critical to North Dakota's Agriculture and its success. SBARE receives input from stakeholders; go through all the information; and brings forward the most critical needs for North Dakota now and into the future. If anyone has questions, they can reach out to Chair Lovas.

Approval of Deadline for accepting testimony

<u>MOTION</u>: Julie Zikmund made a motion for a testimony input deadline of January 5, 2022. Seconded by Senator Jerry Klein. Motion carried.

Testimony / Input Session

8:45 a.m.	Neal Fisher, Administrator - ND Wheat Commission
9:00 a.m.	Ted Preister, Executive Director - Red River Basin Commission
9:15 a.m.	Barton Schott, Chair - ND State Soil Conservation Committee
9:30 a.m.	Barry Medd, Chair - Rural Leadership North Dakota (RLND)
9:45 a.m.	Mary Holm, Retired Executive Director - ND Nursery, Greenhouse and Landscape Association
10:15 a.m.	Nancy Johnson, Executive Director - ND Soybean Growers Association
10:30 a.m.	Mark Landa, Chair - ND 4-H Foundation
10:45 a.m.	Dan Wogsland, Executive Director - ND Grain Growers Association
11:00 a.m.	Duane DeKrey, General Manager - Garrison Diversion
	Brenda Elmer, Executive Director - ND Corn Growers Association and Jean Henning,
11:15 a.m.	Executive Director - ND Corn Utilization Council
11:30 a.m.	Dr. Charlie Stoltenow, Assistant Director Agriculture & Natural Resources
11:40 a.m.	Dr. Leigh Ann Skurupey, Interim Director, Center for 4-H Youth Development
11:50 a.m.	Dr. Carrie Johnson, Interim Assistant Director, Family and Community Wellness
1:00 p.m.	William Nganje, Chair - Agribusiness and Applied Economics
1:15 p.m.	Kenneth Hellevang, Interim Chair - Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
1:30 p.m.	Marc Bauer, Interim Head - Animal Sciences
1:45 p.m.	John McEvoy, Head - Microbiological Sciences
2:00 p.m.	Richard Horsley, Head - Plant Sciences
2:15 p.m.	Brett Webb, Director - Veterinary Diagnostic Lab
2:30 p.m.	Jack Rasmussen, Chair - Plant Pathology
2:45 p.m.	Frank Casey, Director - School of Natural Resource Sciences

Meeting adjourned 3:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Schwengler

NORTH DAKOTA STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATION DRAFT NOVEMBER 3, 2021 MEETING MINUTES | FARGO, ND

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met for a regular meeting on November 3, 2021. Present: Jim Bahm, Dean Bresciani, John Dhuyvetter, Doug Goehring, Larry Hoffmann, Sen. Jerry Klein, Greg Lardy, Sarah Lovas, Mark Urquhart, and Julie Zikmund. Absent: Doug Bichler, Mark Birdsall, Rep. Tracy Boe, Lance Gulleson and Dean Wehri.

Chair Lovas called the meeting to order at 9:50 a.m. She welcomed everyone in attendance, advised on upcoming SBARE meetings and then the testimonies began.

10:00 a.m.	Brian Otteson, Director - Agronomy Seed Farm
10:15 a.m.	Shana Forster, Director - North Central Research Extension Center
10:30 a.m.	Randy Mehlhoff, Director - Langdon Research Extension Center
10:45 a.m.	Mike Ostlie, Associate Director - Carrington Research Extension Center
11:00 a.m.	Christopher Augustin, Director - Dickinson Research Extension Center
11:15 a.m.	Kevin Sedivec, Interim Director - Central Grasslands Research Extension Center
11:30 a.m.	John Nordgaard - Northern Plains Potato Growers Association
11:45 a.m.	Maria Toomey - Extension Master Gardener Program
1:00 p.m.	Mark Sperry, Southeast Director - ND Beekeepers Association
1:15 p.m.	Ryan Taylor - Ducks Unlimited
1:30 p.m.	Eric Baker - Baker Nursery
1:45 p.m.	Amber Boeshans, Executive Director - ND Livestock Alliance
2:00 p.m.	JoAnn Rodenbiker, Council Member - Extension Citizens Advisory

Meeting adjourned 2:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Schwengler